Traffic Safety Division

The Traffic Safety Unit is made up of deputies whose mission is to save lives and protect the motoring public within Oklahoma County through a combination of rigorous traffic enforcement and public education. Working in partnerships with the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office and surrounding agencies, the Oklahoma County Sheriff’s Office Traffic Unit participates in local, state and national traffic enforcement campaigns.

The traffic unit is made up with eight motorcycle deputies, a specialized fatality crash investigation squad, and an educational law enforcement liaison assigned to the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office. In conjunction with enforcing state traffic laws, the Oklahoma County Sheriff’s Office Traffic Unit is aggressively making attempts to reverse the deadly trend of impaired driving by conducting sobriety checkpoints and DUI saturation patrol across Oklahoma County.